Make your own free website on Tripod.com

 

Search Engines

Teacher Sites

Field Trips

Reference

Home 

History

History Sites

History Day Competition  http://www.thehistorynet.com/NationalHistoryDay/index.html


Primary Sources

The Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/
National Archives:  http://www.nara.gov/
Repositories of Primary Sources: http://www.uidaho.edu/special-collections/Other.Repositories.html

Archives and Archivists: http://www.muohio.edu/archiveslist/
Maryland State Archives: http://www.mdarchives.state.md.us/
New york State Archives: http://www.sara.nysed.gov/
Cornell U: http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/
American Strategy: http://americanstrategy.org



Art / Photographs

The National Endowment for the Arts: http://arts.endow.gov/
The Smithsonian Institution: http://www.si.edu/newstart.htm

The National Gallery of Art: http://www.nga.gov/
The Kennedy Center's Arts Edge: http://artsedge.kennedy-center.org/artsedge.html

Artsednet (art education) www.artsednet.getty.edu

Road Trip

CityNet (cities/states/countries)   http://www.city.net/
National Parks: www.nps.gov/

America Travel & Tourism: www.travel-library.com/north_america/usa/
Road Trip: www.moon.com/road_trip/
Graham Family 50 State Trip: www.usatrip.org/
Postcards From America: www.postcardsfrom.com/
Driving Directions:
Mapquest  
http://www.mapquest.com
Expedia: http://www.maps.expedia.com
MapBlast: http://www.mapblast.com


Descriptions of Immigrant Life

European Immigration / Ellis Island

Process procedures: http://www.i-channel.com/features/ellis/process.html
IC:
http://www.i-channel.com/features/ellis/index.html
The Wall of Honor:
http://www.wallofhonor.com/defaultlinks.asp
History Channel:
http://www.historychannel.com/exhibits/ellisisle/chronology.html

Ellis Island:   http://www.ellisisland.org
Exhibition: http://cmp1.ucr.edu/exhibitions/immigration_id.html
ASST: http://www.bergen.org/AAST/Projects/Immigration/
Ohio State: http://www.cohums.ohio-state.edu/history/projects/immigration/

Asian Immigration / Angel Island

Asian Immigration  http://www.cetel.org/res.html

(Angel Island)   http://www.a-better.com/LK-ISF.HTM
Angel Poems: http://www.itp.berkeley.edu/~asam121/poems.html
Chinese History:
http://www.sandiego-online.com/forums/chinese/htmls/angel.htm
Angel Island Stories:
http://www.angel-island.com/
The Live video AngelCAM:
http://angelisland.org/angelcam/
Angel Island Home Page:
http://www.itp.berkeley.edu/~asam121/angel.html

Pen Pals   http://www.epals.com/search/
Alta Vista's Translation:
http://babelfish.altavista.digital.com/cgi-bin/translate?
Japanese with voice: http://home.ntt.com/japan/japanese/
Currency Converter: http://www.xe.net/ucc/



Economics

Cost of Living in the world: http://www.expatforum.com/Resources/icol.htm
CPI Home page: http://stats.bls.gov/cpihome.htm
What is a dollar worth?: http://woodrow.mpls.frb.fed.us/economy/calc/cpihome.html
Inflation Calculators: http://www.jsc.nasa.gov/bu2/inflate.html

POLITICAL ISSUES / ELECTIONS

Al Gore: http://www.algore2000.com/
Democratic National Committee: http://www.democrats.org/index.html

George Bush, Jr: http://www.georgebush.com/
Republican National Committee: http://www.rnc.org/


Issues
Election Search: http://www.electionsearch2000.org/
POLITICAL JUNKIE: www.politicaljunkie.com
THE DEMOCRACY NETWORK
: dnet.org
CNN.COM:
www.cnn.com/allpolitics
Select Smart: http://www.selectsmart.com/PRESIDENT/compare.html
AOL Election site: http://election2000.aol.com
Vote Smart: http://www.vote-smart.org/
Public Agenda: http://www.publicagenda.org
Votenet: http://www.votenet.com
ABCNEWS.COM:POLITICS INDEX:
www.abcnews.go.com/sections/politics
WASHINGTON.COM: POLITICS:CAMPAIGNS
www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/politics/campaigns/campaigns.htm

Mock Election: http://www.mockelection.com
Mock Election: http://www.mockelection2000.com
Congress Link: http://www.congresslink.org

Napoli Issues for debate:  http://thomas.loc.gov/

NATIVE AMERICAN SITES

INDIANZ.COM: www.indianz.com
THE NATIVE AMERICAN HISTORY ARCHIVE: www.ilt.columbia.edu/k12/naha/index.html
WWW VIRTUAL LIBRARY- AMERICAN INDIANS: www.hanksville.org/NAresources
NATIVE AMERICAN CULTURAL RESOURCES:  http://hanksville.phast.umass.edu/misc/NAculture.html
NATIVE AMERICAN HERITAGE: www.nativeamericanheritage.com
SMITHSONIAN INSTITUTION: MUSEUM OF THE AMERICAN INDIAN: www.si.edu/nmai
THE FIRST AMERICANS: www.germantown.k12.il.us/html/intro.html
INDIAN RUINS OF THE SOUTHWEST: www.gorp.com/gorp/resource/archaeol/indruin.htm

U.S. PRESIDENTS

The Presidential Libraries: http://www.nara.gov/nara/president/address.html

THE AMERICAN PRESIDENCY: gi.grolier.com/presidents/preshome.html
AMERICAN PRESIDENTS: LIFE PORTRAITS: www.americanpresidents.org
PRESIDENTS OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
www2.whitehouse.gov/WH/glimpse/presidents/html/president.html
TIME AND THE PRESIDENCY: www.pathfinder.com/offers/presidents
THE HALL OF FORGOTTON PRESIDENTS: www.clark.net/silhan/hallpres.htm
TRIVIA ONE: www.synnergy.com/day/prestc.htm

CIVIL WAR

Civil War   http://sunsite.utk.edu/civil-war/warweb.html
Slave Narratives   http://www.coax.net/people/lwf/slavery.htm

MARTIN LUTHER KING JR.

NATIONAL CIVIL RIGHTS MUSEUM
: www.midsouth.rr.com/civilrights
CENTER FOR NONVIOLENT SOCIAL CHANGE: www.thekingcenter.com
SEATTLE TIMES:MARTIN LUTHER KING JR.: www.seattletimes.com/mlk
MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR.: www.members.tripod.com/~clinch1/index-8.html
MLK, Jr., Scavenger Hunt: http://users.massed.net/~tstrong/Martin.htm

WOMEN'S HISTORY

National Women's History Project   http://www.nwhp.org/links.html
SALEM: WITCHCRAFT HYSTERIA:
www.nationalgeographic.com/features/97/salem
20 MODERN-DAY PIONEERS: www.sunherald.com/whmod/whmod.htm

INVENTION LINKS

Inventions and inventors: http://www.invent.org/book/index.html
About.com: http://inventors.about.com/education/inventors/
Margaret's Invention Site: http://www.clever.net/cam/invent.html
Louisiana State Library: http://www.lib.lsu.edu/sci/chem/patent/srs136.html
InfoPlease (lycos): http://kids.infoplease.lycos.com/ipka/A0770304.html
How Stuff Works (Inventions)  http://www.howstuffworks.com/